Nearly 400 Farm Bureau members of Kansas on Monday wrapped up business for their farm organization during Kansas Farm Bureau’s (KFB) 104th annual meeting.

The policies adopted will now become the organization’s road map for the 2023 legislative session. Topics of discussion included water, medical marijuana and energy production.

Wilson County farmer Joe Newland was elected president. Others elected to the board of directors include:

  • George Pretz, Miami County
  • Steve McCloud, Harvey County
  • Doug Zillinger, Phillips County
  • Joe Jury, Gray County
  • Craig Cooper, Sheridan County

Outgoing KFB President Rich Felts was honored at Sunday’s banquet, including remarks from Sen. Jerry Moran. Other activities included a host of agriculture-related workshops and speakers, including a keynote from Gregg Doud, former Chief Agricultural Negotiator with the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative.

Sen. Roger Marshall and Rep. Tracey Mann spoke during a policy update, which also included briefings from Kansas Farm Bureau staff on issues important to agriculture.

County Farm Bureaus and volunteers were recognized for their 2022 achievements.

Nearly $5,600 was raised through a silent auction sponsored by the Women’s Leadership Committee for the End Hunger campaign.

KFB Foundations’ Fundraiser “Let the Good Times Roll” raised more than $25,000, which also benefits the End Hunger campaign.