Harry Watts
(785) 587-6106

Edie Doane
(785) 587-6102

May 16, 2016


Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture awards scholarships

MANHATTAN – Each year, the Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation for Agricultureawards scholarships to college students studying in fields that benefit agriculture and rural Kansas. Forty-five recipients have received $26,500 in scholarships for the 2016-17 school year.

Over the past decade, the foundation has awarded more than $253,500 in scholarships.

“Developing leaders for tomorrow requires an investment in today’s youth,” says KFB Foundations Director Harry A. Watts.

Thor Burnside, Ellis County, is the winner of the $500 Godfrey and Emma Bahr Miller Agriculture Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund for students attending a college in Kansas and majoring in a subject related to agronomy and conservation. 

Another permanent, privately endowed fund known as the Lester Crandall Memorial Scholarship awarded $1,000 to Ty Nienke, Ellsworth County.

Trent Frye, Republic County, was awarded $1,000 for the Frank & Helen Bernasek Memorial Scholarship.
Twelve students were awarded scholarships to Kansas technical colleges. They include: Jacob Barrett, Mitchell County; Wyatt Forshee, Cloud County; Cole Hiatt, Dickinson County; Kaleb Holaday, Gove County; Zach Jones, Cherokee County; Dylan Kinter, Phillips County; Nicholas Lierz, Nemaha County; Cody Pieper, Rooks County; Chad Reinert, Lincoln County; Nathan Rohr, Ellis County; Justin Schmidt, Thomas County; and Blake Shipley, Jefferson County.

Four $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled in Kansas State University’s college of agriculture and majoring in a subject related to agriculture. They include: Kyle Anderson, Dickinson County; Carrie Carlson, Marion County; Jeffrey Hadachek, Republic County; and Rachel Zimmerman, Grant County.

Two $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled at Fort Hays State University. Recipients are Taylor Ince, Harvey County and Katie Tammen, Rush County.

Twenty-four recipients received $500 scholarships. These students are attending a Kansas college with a Kansas Farm Bureau Collegiate chapter. Students must be a Farm Bureau Collegiate member. 

Recipients include: 

Allen Community College

  • Samantha Albers, Doniphan County
  • Dakota Ferguson, Franklin County
  • Josie Reilly, Montgomery County
  • Karl Riffel, Marion County
  • Leah Scholz, Atchison County
  • Caitlyn Wedel, Harvey County

Cloud County Community College

  • Morgan Gantz, Jefferson County
  • Tyler Marr, Jewell County

Colby Community College

  • Chelsie Calliham, Thomas County 
  • Ellisa Noakes, Lincoln County (Col.)

Coffeyville Community College

  • Michael McFarland, Montgomery County
  • Cristin Shepard, Montgomery County

Kansas State University 

  • Kyle Blakeslee, Barton County 
  • Taylor DeWeese, Pratt County
  • Michelle Keyes, Sarpy County (Neb.)
  • Kerrick Kuder, Lincoln County 
  • Makayla LaRue, Neosho County 
  • Leigh Ann Maurath, Logan County
  • Ellen Revell, Pottawatomie County
  • Cami Roth, Rice County
  • Brandon Smith, Marshall County
  • Liam Williams, Lyon County
  • Spencer Yenni, McPherson County

Seward County Community College

  •  Chase Clinkingbeard, Stevens County