Do you live on a Century Farm?

Do you live on a Century Farm?

Mission of the Century Farm and Sesquicentennial Farm program

Tradition and heritage play a big part in making agriculture such an attractive way of life for so many Kansans. The lifeblood of our existence, the farms and ranches in Kansas, provide food, fuel and fiber for the world.

The history of these farms and ranches is rich, with many stories to tell. In that spirit, Kansas Farm Bureau, the state's leading agriculture advocacy organization, is launching the 2020 program to honor those family farms that have passed down this heritage for more than a century.

The Kansas Farm Bureau “Century Farm” program will recognize family farms whose current owner/operator is related to the owner/operator of the farm in 1921 or before. The applicant must be a Kansas Farm Bureau member and have ownership within the same family for 100 years or more by Dec. 31, 2021, with at least 80 acres of the original Kansas farmland. Qualifying farmers will receive a farm sign designating “Century Farm” status and recognition from Kansas Farm Bureau.

Since the year 2000, Kansas Farm Bureau has recognized more than 2,895 family farms.


Kansas Farm Bureau will also recognize member families whose farms have been in the same family for 150 years. To qualify for the “Sesquicentennial Farms” recognition, the following criteria must be met:

  • Applicant must be a member of Kansas Farm Bureau.
  • Ownership within the same family for 150 years or more by Dec. 31, 2021, with at least 80 acres of the original Kansas farmland.
  • Present owner must be related to original owner.
  • Application must be submitted to local county Farm Bureau office by deadline date, May 15, 2021.

Qualifying applicants will receive a farm sign and certificate designating “Century Farm” status.

How to Apply

Click here for Century Farm application

Click here for Sesquicentennial Farm application

Contact Debbie Hargrave for more info at


2020 Honorees

Click Here to view the 2020 Century Farm Honorees (PDF)

Click Here to view the 2020 Sesquicentennial Farm Honorees (PDF)

Past Honorees

Below is a list of the past honorees, sorted by county (PDF)

Allen     Anderson     Atchison     Barber     Barton     Bourbon     Brown     Butler     Chase     Chautauqua

Cherokee     Cheyenne     Clark     Clay     Cloud     Coffey     Comanche     Cowley     Crawford     Decatur

Dickinson     Doniphan     Douglas     Edwards     Elk     Ellis     Ellsworth     Finney     Ford     Franklin

Geary     Gove     Graham     Grant     Gray     Greeley   Greenwood     Hamilton     Harper     Harvey

Haskell     Hodgeman     Jackson     Jefferson     Jewell     Johnson     Kearny     Kingman     Kiowa     Labette

Lane     Leavenworth     Lincoln     Linn     Logan     Lyon     Marion    Marshall     McPherson     Meade

Miami     Mitchell     Montgomery     Morris     Morton     Nemaha     Neosho     Ness     Norton     Osage

Osborne     Ottawa     Pawnee     Phillips     Pottawatomie     Pratt     Rawlins     Reno    Republic     Rice

Riley     Rooks    Rush     Russell     Saline     Scott     Sedgwick    Seward     Shawnee    Sheridan

Sherman     Smith     Stafford     Stanton     Stevens     Sumner     Thomas     Trego     Wabaunsee     Wallace

Washington     Wichita     Wilson     Woodson     Wyandotte