KFB's Farm Families of the Year

KFB's Farm Families of the Year


The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding Farm Bureau families who have distinguished themselves through participation in Farm Bureau programs and leadership, family activities, community and civic service, as well as displaying good farm operation management.


The award is an opportunity to recognize 105 farm families (single or extended) at the county level and 10 (one per KFB district) farm families (single or extended) at the state level. Applicants must be actively participating in production agriculture and selected by the county Farm Bureau. Current KFB Board members, their families and KFB staff members are not eligible.

How to Enter

Each county Farm Bureau is encouraged to annually select a deserving family and honor them at the county annual meeting or similar event. Each county Farm Bureau may submit their winning family application for one of the 10 Kansas Farm Family of the Year awards to Kansas Farm Bureau.


Each county will receive an attractive Farm Family of the Year yard sign to be presented to the winning family at the county annual meeting. Counties may also choose to give other recognition items at their discretion.
Ten Kansas Farm Family of the Year Awards (one per KFB district) will be presented at the Kansas Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in Manhattan. Honorees will receive a special recognition, a commemorative gift and invite for immediate family to the Recognition Banquet.

2017 Award Winners

District 1 – Fred and Pam Meng, Doniphan County 
District 2 – Brett and Mary Skillman, Coffey County
District 3 – Craig and Denise Mentzer, Allen County
District 4 – Michael and Virginia Patry, Sedgwick County
District 5 – Jim and Karen Taphorn, Marshall County
District 6 – Galen and Rudene Niedenthal, Russell County
District 7 – Tyler and Leah Alpers, Stafford County
District 8 – Jack Jenkinson, Meade County
District 9 – Randy and Pamela Hayzlett, Kearny County
District 10 – Aaron and Elisa Horinek, Thomas County

List of Past Winners (1994-2017)